The Creative Writing Interviews: Beverly Frydman

The Creative Writing Interviews form a series of interviews with contributors to our Creative Writing Studies list. Find out about their work and approach towards writing.

Frances Haynes writes: Beverly Frydman is one of only three people in the UK certified to teach the ‘Journal to the Self’ workshop, and created the ‘Yoga on the Page’ workshop. She is a bereavement counsellor and runs training sessions for counsellors who wish to use therapeutic writing in counselling relationships.

Beverly is a contributor to our forthcoming publication, Teaching Creative Writing. You can find out more about her on her website, at www.creativejournalwriting.com and on her blog, Yoga on the Page.

Beverly, what do you write?

I have always been a journal writer. I’ve kept a diary since I was eight years old and I can’t imagine life without one. I also write poetry and fiction.

Whom do you write for?

I write for myself.  I write to listen to myself, to give myself advice, to amuse and to soothe, to observe, to enjoy.

What achievement are you most proud of as a writer? 

I am proud that my journal writing, such a solitary pursuit, has led to me facilitating journal writing groups. I am thrilled to be able to share my passion for self expression and create a safe place for other people to have their own experience of journal writing.

What involvement do you have / have you had with creative writing as a university/college subject/discipline?

I am currently teaching the ‘Journal to the Self’ workshop, which is based on Kathleen Adam’s seminal work, as well as teaching a workshop I’ve created, called ‘Yoga on the Page’, which marries the practice of yoga with expressive writing.

What is your ambition as a writer?

My ambition as a writer is to use writing to make me feel creative, healthy and sane.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Teaching creative writing: the interview series | Creative Writing Studies

Leave a Reply

