Creative Writing: contributors announced

We are very pleased to announce the team of contributors for Creative Writing, edited by Amal Chatterjee. Including Amal himself, there are eight contributors in all:

Amal Chatterjee is the author of the novel Across the Lakes  and the non-fiction book, Representations of India, 1740-1840. He was shortlisted for the 1998 Crossword India Best Novel Award and was the recipient of a Scottish Arts Council Writer’s Bursary. His short fiction has been published in Time Out and Atlas. He now lives in Amsterdam. Amal reviews regularly for the Dutch newspaper Trouw and teaches Creative Writing at the University of Oxford.

Brian Chikwava is a London-based Zimbabwean writer. His short story was awarded the Caine Prize. Brian has had fellowships at the University of East Anglia and Santa Maddalena Foundation. His debut novel, Harare North, was published in 2009. He is currently working on a second novel.

Poet, novelist and playwright, Fred D’Aguiar, teaches on the MFA Program at Virginia Tech.  His most recent collection of poetry, Continental Shelf, was a Poetry Book Society Choice  and finalist for the T.S. Eliot Prize.

Jane Draycott‘s most recent collection, Over, is published by Carcanet/OxfordPoets and was shortlisted for the 2009 T.S. Eliot Prize. Previous collections include Prince Rupert’s DropThe Night TreeNo Theatre (Smith/Doorstop) and Christina the Astonishing (with Lesley Saunders) and Tideway (illustrated by Peter Hay), both from Two Rivers Press. Her new translation of the 14th-century Pearl is a PBS Recommendation and winner of a Stephen Spender Prize. Named in 2004 as a PBS/Arts Council Next Generation poet, her work has been nominated three times for the Forward Prize for Poetry.  She teaches on postgraduate writing programmes at Oxford University and the University of Lancaster.

Philip Gross’s latest poetry collections are The Water Table, winner of the T.S. Eliot Prize, and I Spy Pinhole Eye, with photographer Simon Denison, which won Wales Book of the Year. A new collection, Deep Field, is due from Bloodaxe in November 2011.  His books of children’s poetry include The All-Nite Café which won the Signal Award, and Off Road To Everywhere, which won the CLPE award for poetry for children 2011. He has published ten novels for young people, including The Lastling. Since 2004 Philip has been Professor of Creative Writing at Glamorgan University, where he leads the M Phil Writing programme.

Kathryn Heyman is the author of four novels, including The Accomplice, and Captain Starlight’s Apprentice, published internationally and in translation. She has won an Arts Council of England Writers Award, the Wingate and the Southern Arts Awards, and been nominated for the Orange Prize, the Scottish Writer of the Year Award, the Edinburgh Fringe Critic’s Awards, the Kibble Prize, and the West Australian Premier’s Book Awards. She’s written several plays for BBC radio, including adaptations of her own work. Kathryn is the Course Director for Faber Academy in Australia.

Emily Raboteau is the author of the novel, The Professor’s Daughter, and Searching for Zion, a forthcoming work of non-fiction.  The recipient of a Pushcart Prize and the Chicago Tribune’s Nelson Algren Award, Emily has received fellowships from  the National Endowment for the Arts, the New York Foundation for the Arts, the Christopher Isherwood Foundation, and MacDowell.  Her writing has been published in Tin House, the Guardian, the Huffington PostBest American Short Stories, Best African American Fiction and Best American Non-Required Reading.  She lives in New York.

Sabyn Javeri-Jillani was born in Karachi and lives in London. Her short stories have appeared in literary journals such as Wasafiri, London Magazine, World Audience, and Trespass, and in popular monthlies such as SHE. Her work has also been published in anthologies by Women Unlimited, Harper Collins, Oxford University Press, The New Oxford Writers  and, most recently, in the award-winning collection by The Feminist Press of New York, And the World Changed- Contemporary Stories by Pakistani Women – in which Sabyn’s was the title story. Sabyn is a graduate of the Oxford University’s Masters in Creative Writing Program and is currently working on her first novel, Once We Were Beautiful.

For further information on the book and for direct links to information online about the contributors, please download our new book information sheet here: Creative Writing – Writers on Writing NBI.


About Anthony Haynes

Director, Frontinus Ltd Communications Associate, FJWilson Talent Services


  1. Pingback: The Creative Writing Interviews: Emily Raboteau | Creative Writing Studies

  2. Pingback: New Oxford blog on creative writing | Creative Writing Studies

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: