Introducing The View Outside – creative writing blog

Anthony Haynes writes: When I discovered Vikki Thompson’s website, The View Outside, I was attracted by its multifaceted nature, which makes provides a lively reading experience. Here Vikki kindly responds to our invitation to introduce The View Outside to new readers.
Vikki writes: I started blogging daily, as a personal challenge to myself on the 1st January 2012. I wanted to keep a record of my writing journey. Things I’d learnt along the way that were useful, and those that weren’t. It never occurred to me at that stage that anyone would want to read my ramblings. But gradually, as the weeks went on, I began to pick up followers. It seemed that people were actually reading what I had to say, and then commenting, that they liked my “voice”.
As a Creative Writing course student (on the Open College of the Arts’ BA Creative Writing course), I’d often heard about “voice” and how important it was to develop it. It’s one of those things that, as a new writer, you’re not always aware of in your own work. I know I wasn’t lol. So it was a shock to the system to hear myself described as “witty” and “inspiring” ¬†with an “infectious sense of optimism” by my fellow Bloggers. Who was this person they we’re describing? Was it really me? Lol.
It’s difficult, believing that your peers enjoy reading what you write. I don’t think any writer is 100% happy with their work (and if you are, then please tell me what vitamins you had this morning! Lol). We’re generally lacking in confidence about our capabilities and easily dented by criticism. Writing is tough, don’t ever let anyone tell you otherwise. It tears at your emotions and wraps you up in isolation.
So it seems I’ve found my “voice”. A “voice” that other people actually enjoy reading. Wow, how did that happen? I try to instigate discussions on all manner of writing topics, plus share some of my own work, even if its awful lol. It’s been hard work, I won’t lie, my actual fiction writing has suffered (but my enthusiasm to edit my novel has increased). But at the same time one of the most interesting, inspiring, educational and rewarding projects I’ve ever undertaken.
Would I have it any other way? Definitely not! :)
About Anthony Haynes

Communications Director, FJWilson Creative Director, The Professional and Higher Partnership Ltd - publisher of the Creative Writing Studies imprint.

2 comments

  1. Thank you so much Anthony, for having me as a guest :)

    Xx

  2. Hey Vikki! It’s always such a pleasant surprise to get positive feedback on a blog. I found your A-Z challenge very interesting, got some cool ideas from your cool ideas. I just might do it next year.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 549 other followers

